Spotlight: Celebrating ASID Awards

Spotlight: Celebrating ASID Awards was a four-day, virtual celebration of the inspirational professionals and projects that exemplify the impact of design. Spotlight took place July 13-16, 2020 and brought together design community members and leaders from across the country.

Everything starts with great design and the ingenious leaders whose creativity, dedication, and drive make a positive impact on the human experience every day. Relive the 4-day virtual Spotlight event! 

Day 1 – ASID National Awards 

The winners of the 2020 ASID National Awards are: Kay Sargent, ASID, CID, LEED AP, MCR/W, WELL AP, Senior Principal and Director of Workplace for HOK (Designer of Distinction); George Bandy, Jr., GBCI Board of Directors, Former Chief Sustainability Officer of Mohawk (Design for Humanity), Material Bank (Design Innovation), and Barbara J. Huelat, FASID, EDAC, AAHID, Author, Interior Designer, Healing Design Strategist (Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit).

Sponsors: Cosentino, Sherwin-Williams 

Hosted By: Ed O’Keefe, CBS News Political Correspondent 

Day 2 – Ones to Watch 

The Ones to Watch program recognizes under-represented, rising design talent who demonstrate notable leadership, a dedication to the profession, authenticity, innovation, and inclusion. The virtual celebration recognized the 20 Ones to Watch winners, along with eight ASID Ones to Watch Scholars. 

Sponsor: Steelcase

Host: Jennifer Kolstad, ASID, Assoc. AIA, Global Design Director, Ford Motor Company and Chair, ASID Board of Directors

Day 3 – ASID Fellows 

The 2020 College of Fellows inductees are: Dr. Rose Mary Botti-Salitsky, Ph.D., FASID, NCIDQ (Program Coordinator and Faculty, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth), Benjamin Huntington, FASID, NCIDQ, NYS CID, (Owner, Veritate Design LLC) and AJ Paron-Wildes, Hon. FASID, WELL AP, LEED AP ID+C (Executive Vice President, B2B, SANDOW).

Host: Gary Wheeler, FASID, Interim CEO, ASID

Day 4 – Outcome of Design

The Outcome of Design Awards extends beyond aesthetics to inspire a higher level of powerful design. The winning projects of the Outcome of Design Awards are: Sensory Well-Being Hub – HKS, Inc and M Moser Associates “Living Lab” – M Moser Associates

 Sponsors: Herman MillerMohawk GroupMetropolis

Host: Ed O'Keefe, CBS News Political Correspondent