Design for Humanity

Commending an individual or organization that has harnessed design to improve the greater good with far-reaching activities.


  • Open to any individual or organization (nominees need not be ASID members).
  • Nominee has engaged in an activity using design as a strategy to positively influence the global human environment (submission will be judged on its own merits, regardless of size). Activities may include but are not limited to fields focusing on sustainability; health and wellness; diversity, equality and inclusion; universal or barrier-free strategies; environmental and energy conservation; safety; and technology. Individuals, design teams, and/or organizations must include documentation of commitment to improving the quality of the human environment. Academia must include research and/or education performed by individuals, institutions, or collaborative groups.
  • ASID national officers, board members, National Awards Committee, and award jurors are ineligible during their terms of service.

Process and Requirements

  • May be peer or self-nominated. 
  • Submit application to online portal. 
  • Application materials include:
    • Professional Statement: A brief statement (max. 250 words) that describes how your work has made sustained contributions to improve the greater good.
    • Body of Work: A prepared presentation demonstrating your impact on the human experience through testimonials, research, case studies and industry recognition. Portfolio must be submitted as one PDF file not exceeding 20 pages or (15 MB max).
    • Headshot or Logo: High Resolution (300 dpi or vector image)
  • All applicants will be judged solely on their submitted materials.

2022: Designs for Dignity
2021: Kia Weatherspoon, ASID, NIDQ
2020George Bandy, Jr.
2019: Healthy Building Network
2017: Susan Szenasy, Hon. FASID
2016: Dwell with Dignity
2015: William D. Browning, LEED AP, Hon. AIA
2014: Judith Heerwagen
2013: MASS Design Group
2012: The 1% Program of Public Architecture
2009: HOK Community Service Project and Greg Mortenson of the Central Asia Institute
2006: Marianne Cusato
2005: Robin Hood Foundation, Library Initiative, and Patricia Moore, Ph.D., ASID, FIDSA
2004: Architecture for Humanity
2003: Habitat for Humanity
2002: Cynthia Leibrock, ASID
2001: ASID Tennessee Chapter
2000: Victoria Schomer, ASID
1999: AlliedSignal, Inc. – Polymers Division, Petersburg, VA
1998: William L. Wilkoff, FASID, District Design
1997: Barbara J. Campbell, Accessibility Guidebook for Washington
1996: Wayne Ruga and the Center for Health Design
1995: Cranbrook Academy of Art, Michigan
1994: Elizabeth Paepcke and the International Design Conference
1993: Neighborhood Design Center, Baltimore
1992: The Preservation Resource Center, New Orleans
1991: E.I. Du Pont de Nemours & Company, Orange County, TX
1990: The Scavenger Hotline, San Francisco