Design Luminary Award

Honoring an individual or organization for advancing the interior design profession through outstanding education, advocacy, research or promotion.

The award honors the legacy of Nancy Vincent McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition of interior design and the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID) from 1941 to 1944.


  • Open to any individual or organization (nominees need not be ASID members).
  • Nominee has made lasting and significant contributions to interior design that have advanced the profession, scope of practice, and/or body of knowledge through support, education, advocacy, research, or promotion.
  • ASID national officers, board members, National Awards Committee, and award jurors are ineligible during their terms of service.

Process and Requirements

  • May be peer or self-nominated. 
  • Submit application to online portal. 
  • Application materials include:
    • Professional Statement: A brief statement (max. 250 words) that describes how your body of work has advanced the profession.
    • Body of Work: A prepared presentation of initiatives, achievements, and industry recognition that demonstrate your impact on the profession. Portfolio must be submitted as one PDF file not exceeding 20 pages (15 MB max).
    • Headshot or Logo: High resolution (300 dpi or vector image)
  • All applicants will be judged solely on their submitted materials.

2022: Katherine S. Setser, ASID, IIDA, IDEC, NCIDQ
2021: Jill Pable, Ph.D., ASID, FIDEC
2020: Barbara J. Huelat, FASID, EDAC, AAHID 
2019: Stephanie Clemons
2018: Tamie Glass, ASID
2017: Paula Wallace
2016: Caren S. Martin, Ph.D., FASID
2015: Lisa Marie Tucker, Ph.D., ASID, IDEC
2014: Amy Campos, RA, ASID, IDEC, LEED AP
2013: Linda Sorrento, FASID, LEED AP BD+C
2012: Kerrie Kelly, FASID, CAPS
2011: Jacqueline Vischer, Ph.D.