Designer of Distinction

Celebrating the achievement of an interior designer who exemplifies a commitment to design excellence as demonstrated by a significant, high-quality body of design work that has advanced the profession.


  • Open to any individual that is an active ASID professional or allied member.
  • Nominee has practiced interior design for a minimum of 10 years.
  • Nominee is able to provide a high-quality body of design work that has advanced the profession through any of the following:
    • Defining new typology of project or new avenues of work (expanding scope and practice).
    • Pushing interior design into new fields improving the human experience.
    • Influencing the trajectory and future of the profession.
  • ASID national officers, board members, National Awards Committee, and award jurors are ineligible during their terms of service.

Process and Requirements

  • May be peer or self-nominated. 
  • Submit application to online portal. 
  • Application materials include:
    • Professional Statement: A brief statement (max. 250 words) that describes how your body of work has advanced the profession.
    • Portfolio of Work: A prepared portfolio showcasing major projects, awards and industry recognition that demonstrate design excellence and your impact on the profession. Portfolio must be submitted as one PDF file not exceeding 20 pages (15 MB max).
    • Headshot: High resolution (300 dpi).
  • All applicants will be judged solely on their submitted materials.

2022: Jocelyn M. Stroupe, ASID, CHID, EDAC, IIDA

2021:   Joey Shimoda, ASID, FAIA  
2020:   Kay Sargent, ASID, CID, LEED AP, MCR/W, WELL AP
2019:   Primo Orpilla, ASID
2018:   Ken Wilson, ASID, FAIA, LEED® Fellow
2017:   Steve Clem, ASID, FAIA
2016:   Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, FASID, CID, LEED Fellow
2015:   Sonya Dufner, FASID
2014:   Tama Duffy Day, FASID, LEED AP BD+C
2013:   Robert Wright, FASID
2012:   Rosalyn Cama, FASID
2011:   Mariette Himes Gomez, ASID
2010:   Kirsten Childs, ASID, LEED AP
2009:   Darrell Schmitt, FASID
2007:   Nila Lieserowitz, FASID
2006:   Penny Bonda, FASID
2005:   Barbara Barry, FASID
2004:   Deborah Lloyd Forrest, FASID
2003:   Eleanor Brydone, FASID
2002:   Hugh Latta, FASID and Margaret McCurry, ASID
2001:   William Hodgins, ASID
2000:   Paul Vincent Wiseman, ASID
1999:   Gary Wheeler, FASID
1998:   Janet Schirn, FASID
1997:   Phyllis Martin-Vegue, ASID
1996:   Joseph Minton, ASID
1995:   Andre Staffelbach, ASID
1994:   Charles D. Gandy, FASID
1993:   Trisha Wilson, ASID
1992:   Richard Himmel, FASID
1991:   John F. Saladino, ASID
1990:   Sarah Tomerlin Lee, ASID